Question for the South Dakota crowd??

Quailnerd

I read your post about the wild winter this year with snow and frigid temps, what’s your opinion on the effects of a harsh winter on prairie chickens and grouse compared to pheasants?

I am not an expert, but I don’t think they’re quite as affected as pheasants…for one thing, they’re equipped to move long distances, and will, when need be. I saw more prairie grouse than usual where I hunt late season, and I suspect they had moved East from where they had been. Also, they’re indigenous to the areas they live, and have adapted to these conditions. Fingers crossed.

I am not an expert, but I don’t think they’re quite as affected as pheasants…for one thing, they’re equipped to move long distances, and will, when need be. I saw more prairie grouse than usual where I hunt late season, and I suspect they had moved East from where they had been. Also, they’re indigenous to the areas they live, and have adapted to these conditions. Fingers crossed.
I wish I had some idea about prairie chickens & sharptails, but they're absolutely not my area of expertise. I've only seen them a handful of times in my life, & I've never so much as taken a shot at one. My guess would be as stated above. By now, they've learned how to handle extreme conditions with seemingly little cover.