Pheasant spotted near Manhattan, Kansas

Kansan

I am in my first semester as an agronomy student at Kansas State University. I have always wondered if there are any pheasants around here, as I have heard that there are. I have seen several coveys of quail around, but yesterday as I was driving back from Tuttle Creek Lake to roost some turkeys (They're gobblin their heads off now!), I saw a big ol' rooster pheasant standing in the ditch next to some CRP. I tried to stop and get a picture, but he was so close he turned around and ran into the grass as fast as those little legs could go. This was in Pottawatomie County just east of Olsburg. Nice to see one, as now I know that there are indeed some birds around. Now I just need to spot a Prairie Chicken in this area; I know there's quite a few around here in the Flint Hills.

Prairie Chicken are going to be easier to find there than pheasants. Congratulations on school choice, BTW. Spent some time there myself, back in the dark ages.

Used to be some decent phez hunting around there back in the day. I suppose there are still some nice pockets of birds but probably not what it used to be

The problem with tuttle creek is it floods alot. Even in years where it seems like there isn't that much rain it floods out.

Makes me glad to know that there's some around. I'm sure any Kansas bird hunter enjoys hearing a report of pheasants in northeast Kansas.

Good to hear there gobbling its to far east for me but good news to hear...

U go north into Nebraska from there its nothing to see a pheasant I hope KS improves its been pretty poor last 6+ years I turkey hunted it lil to no pheasants sited