New to MN

Trusty20

Hi Everyone,
I'm pretty new to MN and am looking forward to meeting some fellow pheasant hunters and learning the places to hunt for pheasant or grouse. I've got a 3 year old GSP. She works the field pretty well and listens well to commands but is still polishing up on finding birds and holding back when the bird is flushed. I could use some good places to take her out and give her a chance to find some birds. Does anyone know of some good locations within a 2-3 hour drive from the Twin Cities?

Hi Everyone,
I'm pretty new to MN and am looking forward to meeting some fellow pheasant hunters and learning the places to hunt for pheasant or grouse. I've got a 3 year old GSP. She works the field pretty well and listens well to commands but is still polishing up on finding birds and holding back when the bird is flushed. I could use some good places to take her out and give her a chance to find some birds. Does anyone know of some good locations within a 2-3 hour drive from the Twin Cities?

Welcome to Minnesota.

There are quite a few options for pheasant hunting within 1-2 hours of the cities but they see lots of use. Depending on where you live I'd go 3-hours or more to hit the less pressured options.

Southwest and west central MN have the best combination of decent pheasant numbers and abundant public hunting options. In a nutshell the closer to South Dakota the better and if you find it on the map and it looks like an inconvenient place to get to from the metro again all the better.

As for grouse the northeast & north central areas of MN are prime territory and there are lots of public land options within 1.5 to 2.5 hours from the cities. The hunting that close to the metro can be average to good. If you want good to very good grouse hunting look at traveling 3-hours or more again.

Good Luck

DB

What part of Mn do you live?