Hello all!

Ron Faulkner

I'm a newbie to the pheasant world. I'm thinking of raising the beauties for fun and profit. Anybody have any thoughts or resources?

Thanks.

Welcome Ron. Pheasants are a pain in the @ss to raise, that being said I raise 10-30 birds a year from egg to adult just for fun and to hear them crow. I have not yet figured out how to turn a profit on my birds so if you figure out let me know.:D I'm sure raising them in volume and buying feed in bulk will help you turn a profit but in small volume (less than 150) I don't see it working. If you would just like to have a few to hear crow and train the dogs its well worth it though. Caution raising birds is addictive and expensive so be careful.

This year I raised 25 wild Rio turkeys from day old. 10 I raised for 2 months for a rancher who lets me quail hunt. Invested 25 dollars per bird, but get to hunt 1800 prime acres. The rest I had for another 2 months or so, another 15 dollars per bird. Gave 3 away to friends, slaughtered 2, and sold the rest for 20$ each. I lost over 500$ on those damn turkel birds, not to mention my time invested.:eek:

Hope I didn't discourage you, it really is fun (to me at least) raising them.

Thanks for the info, Quail Hound. And thanks for the reality check. Discouragement is sometimes another word for reality. But that doesn't mean I've given up.