Hays for three days

Live2Birdhunt

I have managed to put together a decent group of 7 guys and two dogs. I am returning to Kansas after a 5 year hiatus. We will hunt Thur, Fri and Sat. this week. I actually got started about 25 years ago in Goodland and the surrounding area. The last five years has been mostly South Dakota due to the drought conditions in KS and the TX panhandle. We are all traveling a considerable distance and will be hunting all public land. I was hoping that I could get some general input on which direction to head out in to be most effective. We have three days so we can pretty much try any direction but of course want to be most effective. I am pretty much considered the guide on these type hunts so I don't want to produce a terrible hunt. I have plenty of experience in evaluating good good hunting spots and patterning birds any given day but fear I am at a little disadvantage due the lack of time to do even a little scouting. I also have considerable late season experience. So I was hoping for a little guidance.

Thanks in advance. I'll check back in to let you now how it goes or any special happenings on this late season effort.

Be prepared to walk a lot and shoot a little I hunted a spot where the dogs pointed a group of birds close to 35 hens not one rooster Kansas has got substantial hunting pressure do to the reports in the Dakotas Best advice is if you are not finding birds move 25 Miles or so Let is know how you do !!!

All though Hays has all the bars and hotels and food it also has a lot of hunters. I was there in late Dec and could not believe all the hunters i seen
Great habitat in walk in areas but saw more hunters foot prints than birds
Seems everywhere I went someone was there first.I personally would stay and hunt North of hays less accommodations but more birds.