Best Digital Trail Cam?

BritChaser

Whats the best digital trail cam, preferably motion-activated. I know nothing about them except for some excellent pics posted in this forum. Thank you!

I don't know that they are the best, but I bought a couple of Bushnell at walmart for $99.

I have been using them for a couple of years and they are still taking good pics.

The Homebrew camera's seem to be the best and that is what Chuck uses. He can direct you to a website that is devoted to home builds that take awesome pic's.:cheers:

I can't argue with the quality of those pics being fantastic. I always love the Trail Cam threads he posts.:10sign:

But for the rest of us... For a whole lot less $$, you can get a perfectly satisfactory trail camera that is motion activated, and you won't have to worry about your DSLR getting stolen if someone happens upon your setup. And unless you are a very serious photographer, you will be happy with the pics you get. Most of the new generation ones have at least 8mp or more for daytime photos, and the pics come out very nice for most people's purposes of seeing the wildlife on their property.

If you want to start selling prints, making posters and calendars, and get super serious about wildlife photography, then start building! If you just want some neat pictures of deer and other game, then any decent trail cam should satisfy your curiosity and the pictures are plenty good enough to email to friends, post online, or even have them printed in a modest size.

My last trail cam was definitely under $200 on sale, and I have been totally happy with it. Aside from still pics, it will also shoot videos of whatever length I want, and the batteries last for months.

Mount it to the base of a large tree or to a post, or you will get a lot of false triggers from wind blowing the tree around.

Just my .02

I can't argue with the quality of those pics being fantastic. I always love the Trail Cam threads he posts.:10sign: