20 gauge steel shot

KansasGsp

I've been shooting a 12 gauge O/U for the last 15 years, made the decision to switch to a 20 this year. Love the gun and have been knocking them dead with Federal Premium Copper plated 5 shot. However, I have yet to find a steel shell worth a darn for the 20 gauge. So, you 20 gauge guys have any recommendations for pheasant loads in steel shot? Thanks in advance.

Kansas -- If you keep your shots inside 40 yards, a 20 gauge will kill pheasants just fine if you do your part and put the pattern on their front end!

Use the right load, pellet size and choke for your hunting/shooting situation and you shouldn't have any trouble. I usually shoot 3" 1-ounce loads with No. 3s or 2s steel but I have shot many with the 1-ounce load of No. 4 steel. Roster's research showed #2 steel worked best over #6 and #4 and suggested that the #3 steel pellet would be good, too.

Of course, you need to pattern your loads and chokes at the distance you plan on using them to make sure they can maintain good pheasant killing pattern densities. The chokes that seem to work best with the above mentioned steel loads in my gun were SK for 30 yard shots and IM for 40 yard shots.

Here are some pattern numbers from a 20-gauge Browning Citori with 28" Invector-plus barrels and Briley flush chokes to give you an idea of what you might find (patterns average of five, 30" post-shot scribed circle, yardage taped muzzle to target, and in-shell pellet count average of five).

20 GA 3" WINCHESTER DRYLOK STEEL LOAD
1 oz #3 steel (145 pellets) @ 1,330 fps
30 YARDS / SK / pattern 114 (78%)
40 YARDS / IM / pattern 106 (73%)

20 GA 3" REMINGTON NITRO-STEEL LOAD
1 oz #2 steel (118 pellets) @ 1,330 fps
30 YARDS / SK / pattern 101 (86%)
40 YARDS / IM / pattern 99 (84%)

Good luck.