What am I looking for?

TheWanderer

I'll be hunting in SD this year for the first time ever. We'll be hunting 3 1/2 days in the NE part of the state and as of now there'll be 3 of us and one dog. I know there's plenty of public land, and I know it can be tough/hit/miss, and I know miles needed to be added to the odometer in terms of scouting.

But what am I looking for when driving? I've never had to scout pheasants. I've been hunting them for 10 years now, but in PA/NJ there all stockies so you go where they put them on the limited land there is available.

Strategies on late season scouting would be very welcomed.

I've already read up on late season hunting and tactics strategies.

When the state puts out its survey on pheasant numbers you can look for areas that have good numbers and then go into those areas and drive by public ground and try to find good cover. also if you can drive right up to it so has everyone else--look for out of the way hard to get to places--maybe walk to the back part away from the road---hunt slow and remmember if birds are flushing wild your not going to get to them anyway and you will rush past the sit tight birds---SLOW

I've gone to NESD for 4 years. I know that is not much but we did our best finding areas that a small group can hunt. We usually did this the last part of October however. If you are going later in the year and hunting public land in NESD I would certainly look at cattails sloughs that would be manageable for the size of your group. You will come across numerous sloughs that are huge and will hold a fair number of birds, but they are simply too big for the size of group that you have. There are tracts of public land that you will be able to hunt but you simply have to drive and find them. The land out there changes every year. If there are any food sources next to this land, this should be good. PM me if you have more questions on where we hunted.