Slow learning lab

rugardave

Hi Trainers,
I've posted before and have gotten good results and advice and now I have a new problem. When he was young we got seperated and he flipped out. Someone else found him after I lost him at a public hunting area, they were nice enough to tie him to a bumper in the lot where I found him 5 or 10 minutes later. NOW, when we hunt he will not leave my side or if at the most 10 yrds. always on a game path and not rangeing through the weed right and left. If he looses sight of me he franticly races back to my side. He is 4 yrs. old. In the yard he will range, run and fetch dead quail/pheasant all day. My yard in about 1.25 acers so there is enough room. Anybody have any suggestions? Thanks for your help.

Dave

Is there a reason no one is helping rugardave?:mad:
I would try to hunting him with another dog. I'm no expert can't see where it would hurt any:)

Well you won't lose him again! I would say it makes him brighter than average. Experience should help a lot, another dog going out finding game would help entice him out. Shooting birds out a ways, will encourage a long retrieve. Use voice re-enforcement good dog, go back, anything which helps give him your position. I had a lot of bird dogs pups who get lost, and found them back at the truck. I suggest he'll work it out. Sometimes we make a mountain out of a mole hill. As always the sage advisor says birds, birds, and more birds, make a birddog. Happy experience finding and retreiving birds makes all the difference. I am assuming that you didn't over-react when you found him lost, that makes confidence harder to acheive. Retrieving drill is use a shackled bird, and let him watch it, let it go, hopefully scurry away, after awhile let use the scent and find it, bring it back. You stay on the direct route back. He watched it, went and found it a distance away, and found you where he left you. Problem solved. There are lots of drills to come up with to accomplish this.

Last edited: