Retired Air Force, never, ever, ever been to South Dakota

retrvrman

Howdy all,
well here goes. I have been on the UPH for a while now. I mainly stay on the Colorado (I live in Colorado Springs) or Kansas sites. I am retired Air Force. I have been hunting wild pheasant since 1996. I got my first ever opportunity to hunt pheasant in Kansas back in 1996. I hunt with labs, well trained. I was born and raised in/and around Dallas, TX. However I joined the military right after high school.

Now over the years I have met dozens of guys from South Dakota in the mlitary and I have tried and tried to possible tag along on a hunt. Unfortunately the high ops tempo of the Air force always seem to hit about the same time hunting season, go figure :eek:

Now that I am retired from active duty I would love to make it up there, however I am 100% gunshy of coming up there spending alot of $$$ not having any clue of where to go, don't know anyone, and all the visions of the birds I have heard and seen on TV are just pipe dreams.

I realize that it may be too late for this season, however I was hoping maybe for next season I might be able to get some good advice and assistance from someone.

I am also hoping that my 12yr old son Colton can get his first pheasant this year. I took him out for the first time last year. He is ready to go for this season already.

Meanwhile I will hunt here in Colorado and I will still head down to Kansas.

I appreciate it, take care and god bless,

Greg

Last edited: