Newbie Question

JasoP

Hi all. I'm new to upland hunting. I've gone 2 times this year, once for quail during the first week of season and today for pheasant/quail. Unsurprisingly I was unsuccessful both times. The first time I was skunked but at least today I saw a couple hens and a covey of quail (or at least I think I did). Both occasions were on type c wildlife areas. My question is are the type a areas managed better and therefore have more game or are they managed purely for duck? More specifically, what are the differences for upland hunting on Colusa Bypass Wildlife Area vs the Colusa national wildlife refuge?

Thanks for any help.
Jason

I've never hunted those specific places but yes, type A areas usually have better habitat than type c areas.

Welcome to UPH.

Last edited:
I've hunted both those areas for years along with all the Class As and a lot of the C areas too. The As are "managed" with the emphasis on waterfowl because that is where grant money is while the Cs are left largely to fend for themselves. That doesn't mean there are no hunting opportunities on C areas but since they can be hunted 7 days a week with no limit on the number of hunters, they get pounded. You have to do research on all the C areas and then spend the time to learn them. You'll find the ones that are worth hunting and the ones that aren't. As a point of information the Daughtrey Hill Class C wildlife area had a big portion of it burned up in the Loma Rica fire. In the immediate coming years when new growth comes up it can be beneficial to upland birds. Quail and turkeys in the case of Daughtery Hill.

Thanks Quail Hound and Calamari.