New to the forum & the sport & need help

chucktator

I'm new to both the forum & the sport and was hoping someone could give me some tips as to strategy and public access lands that might actually have some birds. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Hey Chucktator,
Glad to have you here. Go to the introduction and introduce yourself and I'm sure there will be someone to help. Just a great bunch here. Hope to hear from you often and good luck!

Hey Chuck- Welcome. Here's the deal. Go to your local sporting goods retailer (if you haven't done so already), get a small game license, habitat stamp, walk-in permit, and a walk in atlas. Study the atlas and find some areas that have walk-in access in the northeastern part of the state. Drive out there and find a good field with cover and food nearby and hop in! There are plenty of birds and if you're willing to work you will be greatly rewarded.
The only way you will get good at strategy is to learn from experience. It's better that way anyways. Keep your eyes peeled when driving and get out there when there is some snow so you can better understand their activity. Good luck and keep us posted on your developments.

What W21 said but don't be afraid to knock on few doors and ask for permission, you will have better luck with landowners later in the season has been my experience. Also watch for some of the more seasoned hunters to give a few hints on here, not locations but covers the birds are in and such.........Van