Indiana Pheasant Hunt

TerryB

Here in Indiana we have about 38 parcels of CRP ground managed by the state and cultivated by Purdue University's Biology department. The properties are all between 40 and 80 acres in size surrounded by private farms with some having food plots on the crp ground itself. We here in Indiana have to put in for a "Lottery Draw" in order to have a chance at hunting one of these units. We put in for it in August and the draws were 2 weeks ago. Ive been putting in for this hunt for over 20 years and I finally got a draw. I hunted yesterday with 2 friends and my GSP. We could start at 9am and we're allowed 2 birds per person. We saw over 80 birds and we only walked 1/4th of the property. My hunt was much like my sex life.....DONE EARLY!!!!.....first 10 min. the dog pointed.......I got my first natural double and I was done.....my partners finished out within the next half hour and we were on our way home. It took us longer to get there than it did to limit.......Those of you who have thousands of walk in CRP areas are lucky to be able to hunt them at will. Took 20 years to get this one in.....just thought I'd share a great hunt story.