Favorite Pheasant Choke POLL

What is your Favorite Pheasant Shotgun Choke

• Total voters
Opening week of pheasnt I shot my 28ga sxs cyl/ ic, shooting 3/4 oz 7.5s @1300fps and dropped all but one rooster down stone dead. Of course the birds weren't jumpy yet and my dog was working nice and close.

After that I switched to my 20ga ic/ mod shooting 1oz copper plated 6s @1300fps. A very deadly combo.

For the last 2 weekends I choked up to mod/ full and dropped a #5 in my second barrel.

rING Ring

WP, Then your vote should go under Cyclinder, that is the same as No Choke..........Bob

Pattern Master has a broken ring system that grabs the wad, this shortens the shot string giving a denser fuller pattern! where using more choke would would make the shot-string longer! do you have a "OTHER"

Last edited:
Ive been using a pattern master with large steel shot for over 10 years it has NO CHOKE AT ALL! Its great for late season pheasant hunting with steel SHOT LIKE 2 OR BB

WP, No Other... You Stated "No Choke At All." That means open barrel......... cyclinder......Bob

Last edited:
I use skeet for my first barrel, with Federal Wing Shok #6's, then if I need my second barrel, it's IC with Winchester Super Pheasant (copper plated) #5's for a little more reach - and a lot more stopping power.

I Voted Skeet

I shoot skeet (first barrel) and IC after reading articles about the lethality and good patterns of modern shot shells. I bag about 90% of my birds on the first shot, so I voted for skeet. If I had a single barrel gun, my vote would have been IC. When the wind is up or I am in a larger (noisier) hunting party into the season, I will go IC and mod. When focusing on quail, I go cylinder and skeet and have had no problem killing pheasants with 7 1/2 or 8 shot through cylinder on fairly tight shots.

Last edited: