Quail Habitat

dekuiper

Hi All,

I'm new to Missouri and quail hunting. I have been fortunate enough to pheasant hunt in South Dakota and grouse hunt in Michigan over the years though...

What is good quail habitat? How can it be identified. I have enjoyed some of the pictures posted which helps a little but I'm looking for friendly advice.

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to MO dekuiper! I spend most my time chasing pheasant in MO, but for the first time since I've hunt MO I've spent a little more time looking for bobwhite quail. I'd say focus your time on edges of bean fields weather it's fence rows or woods. I tend to run into them in cover that is thicker on top, but they have a ability to run freely through it at the ground level (if that make sense). Very early or very late I'll find them in the middle of CRP fields, but again I'd say focus on woody areas near food plots or cover. I know there are more experienced hunters on here that can share their insight on hunting quail, but I hope this helps. Good luck!

Find crop fields that have weedy, lespedza or woody cover and there’s a good chance you’ll find quail. If any of the components above are missing your rate of sucess goes down quickly. If your hunting areas that have ground cover that’s mainly fescue you need to change locations. There’s not a abundance of quail in Missouri but there are pockets that are very good but are hard to find and are not numerous in my opinion. Good luck

Find crop fields that have weedy, lespedza or woody cover and there’s a good chance you’ll find quail. If any of the components above are missing your rate of sucess goes down quickly. If your hunting areas that have ground cover that’s mainly fescue you need to change locations. There’s not a abundance of quail in Missouri but there are pockets that are very good but are hard to find and are not numerous in my opinion. Good luck

+1. Really good advice. Heavy timber lined crop fields are not very productive either.